

MINUTES OF THE

TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE Thursday, August 15, 2019 10:00 a.m. Council Chambers City/School Administration Center Rapid City, South Dakota

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sara Odden – Rapid City Public Works Department, Patsy Horton – Rapid City Community Development Department, Kip Harrington – Rapid City Community Development Department, Jerry Ortbahn – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Bob Kaufman – City of Box Elder Public Works Department, Ted Johnson – Rapid City Public Works Department, Lt. Mark Hughes – Pennington County Sheriff's Department, Scott Tegethoff – Meade County Highway, Lt. Cathy Bock – Rapid City Police Department, Vicki Fisher – Rapid City Community Development Department, Megan Gould – Rapid Transit Manager and Steve Frooman – City of Rapid City Traffic Engineer

MEMBERS ABSENT: Chief Deputy Brian Mueller – Pennington County Sheriff's Office, Brett Burditt – Meade County School District, PJ Conover – Pennington County Planning Department, Doug Curry – Rapid City Regional Airport, Chief Jason Dubbs – City of Box Elder Police Department, Lisa Donner – SD Department of Transportation, Blaise Emerson – City of Box Elder Planning Department, Jack Dokken – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Ron Merwin – Meade County Sheriff's Department, Lincoln Shuck – Meade County Highway, Joseph Miller – Pennington County Highway Department, Stacy Bartlett – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Sgt. Wayne Asscherick – Rapid City Police Department, Bill Welk – Pennington County Highway Department, Bill Rich – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department, Rhea Crane – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department, Dennis Berg – Rapid City School District, Bob Eben – Ellsworth Air Force Base, Lonnie Harmon – City of Summerset City Administrator and Mayor Steve Heilman – City of Piedmont

OTHERS PRESENT: Kelly Brennan and Melissa Bloomberg – Rapid City Community Development and Mark Hoines – Federal Highway Administration

Chairperson Horton called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

General Public Comment

Harrington relayed the general comment from the Citizens Advisory Committee Meeting on the flooded Greenway path.

Business

Fisher moved, Kaufman seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the minutes from the June 13, 2019 meeting.

19TP018 – Approve the 2020-2023 Rapid City Area Transportation Improvement **Program (TIP)** – **Final Report.** Brennan reviewed the Rapid City Area TIP final report. This is a four year priority list and financial plan for highway, transit and intermodal projects. The TIP is intended to serve as a fiscal management tool to assist state and



local agencies in matching transportation needs with resources. The TIP development, review, and approval process includes participation from affected public agencies, citizens groups, private transportation providers and representatives from various transportation entities.

Johnson moved, Fisher seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the Rapid City Area Transportation Improvement Program – Final Report.

19TP019 – Approve the 2020 MPO Meeting Dates and Locations. Harrington reviewed the schedule for the 2020 MPO Meeting Dates and Locations.

Kaufman moved, Johnson seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the 2020 MPO Meeting Dates and Locations.

19TP020 – Approve the 2020 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) – Draft Report. Harrington reviewed the 2020 UPWP draft report. This document includes the annual activities, planning studies and products to be developed by the MPO for 2020. The UPWP also identifies funding and staffing for conducting these tasks.

Fisher moved, Kaufman seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the 2020 Unified Planning Work Program – Draft Report.

Update on Construction Projects

Odden provided information on the current construction projects within the MPO area. Kaufman, Tegethoff and Frooman provided additional updates.

Update on Planning Projects

Harrington and Brennan provided information on the current planning projects within the MPO area.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:14 a.m.